Bead Bracelets

Good morning. This morning, I would like to share a bit more of an aspect of our donor-appreciation.

imagejpeg_7 (1) imagejpeg_2 (1) imagejpeg_9 (1)

Earlier on in this site, I introduced one of our volunteers, Sonya, who creates the bead bracelets that have been shown. I would like to share some more of those beads because a lot of work goes into creating them for our donors who give $20 or more. Every one is appreciated, no matter the amount, but for those who give larger amounts, the bracelets are a visual thank you. Everyone has a fundamental need to be recognized and appreciated. This is our way of doing that.

imagejpeg_2 (2) imagejpeg_2 (16) imagejpeg_5 (10)

For those who care to give via credit card, feel free to click on  (http://oimco.org/) and use the PayPal account. Thank you so much!

imagejpeg_2 (16) imagejpeg_3 (13) imagejpeg_4 (13)

May God bless you. We live in a world full of pain and financial need, no question, and often the decision to give or not give comes down to simple questions, “Can I trust this person or organization? Are they going to use the money to do what they said or start driving around in  Bentley‘s while putting money in their own pockets?” Those are great questions and I would LOVE for you to come by, if you are in the neighborhood, and visit me.

Personally, just so you know, I take 3 buses to get here to the office every day. By car, it’d be a 20 minute trip; by bus, it’s an hour to be at the office on time. I’m a very real person, I assure you. The staff here loves the Lord ( I would not be here if I sensed ANYTHING off about this organization). None of us are paid- we are VOLUNTEERS-but we’d love to be able to change that at some point in time and at least make enough to provide for our families. Speaking for myself, let me tell you this: I have known homelessness on a very personal basis. I’ve been a single parent who needed a start-up kit for baby. I’ve been in shelters, dependent on others for my food. I’ve slept on concrete (in California, so no danger of freezing, but nonetheless uncomfortable). I’ve spent my time in a food line waiting for food.  I know what it is to suffer lack- to watch my child not have a place to lay his head down other than where ever we could find, so I know this side of the issue. I wasn’t always this way-I grew up middle class, in private (Christian) schools,  always had a ride to whereever I needed to get. I never knew poverty as a child (post-adoption) so facing it for the first time was a shock to the system.

I apologize for going off-kilter a bit, but I always write as led by the Spirit and He is the one I seek to please. People should always go according to conscience- no matter what. Following the Spirit is the only way to walk straight in this world of twists and turns and truths and  half-truths. Go as led- here to this organization or to your place of worship, whereever that is. So long as you GIVE, it doesn’t matter (in the long run) who you give to. We need help; no question, but I’m a messenger and that’s all. I’m not a “salesman” of any repute-couldn’t sell a wool coat to an Eskimo in Antarctica but then again, I don’t have to. God will see to our needs; maybe he’ll use you- maybe he’ll go another venue. There’s no question of whether or not He’ll help- He promised and He’s not a man, that he should lie.

 

About Overcomers International Ministry

We are a non-profit organization dedicated to the spiritual and physical healing of a hurting world. We are located in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Overcomers International Ministry (OIM) is comprised of a church, office and food pantry.

Posted on April 4, 2013, in Thank You Bracelets, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. These bead bracelets are well made and an act of love by Sonya. Thank you, Father, for people willing to do things with no discernible reward in sight.

  1. Pingback: Bead Bracelets | Overcomers International Ministry

Leave a Reply

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

Focused And Free

Faith-based recovery and spiritual growth in Christ

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

unconditional love

concerning this house

Faithrises

"Discussions on faith and perseverance"

How Leaders Manage

Shape your Character change your life.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

TVLine

TV News, Previews, Spoilers, Casting Scoop, Interviews

who is bert

a dialogue on mind, consciousness and existence

1stFreelancing

Web design and Development Guide

Three Wise Guys

Best not to think about it

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

eatbreatherun

Eating, Running & Fighting Against Lung Cancer

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Paper Engines

Cultural Critique, Art and The Musings of a Moral Mad Scientist

Eddie Knight

Thoughts from the Justice Generation

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

One Body, A Million Stories

Powered by the people of Cypress UMC

altruistico

People Healing People

Writers for a Cause

Spreading goodwill through good reads.

drboosters

Divine Redeemer Athletics & Boosters

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

candycoatedreality™

A dose of positivity, inspiration & motivation!

SOulBLINDministry.com

The Bible you've been missing

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

joannahilton

Lover of literature

seyisandradavid

A Writer With A Difference

Darrell Creswell - A Study of Christian Grace

Just a servant with a laptop sharing stories of Grace, Love, Hope and Comfort

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

