Who’s your Neighbor?

The New Testament instructs us to “Love thy neighbor as thyself” but who IS your neighbor? Is it the circle you call friends? Is it people of the same economic group as you belong to? Or, could it be that it’s the homeless guy you passed this morning on your way to church, or to the movies or to…wherever else you had to go? For me, it’s anyone who passes by, regardless of how they’re dressed, how they’re acting or speaking or what they’re doing. Maybe they’re not the BEST neighbor we’ve ever had, but that doesn’t change the fact that they ARE our neighbor.

Let me tell you about MY neighbors. They are poor. They are homeless. They have nowhere to go at night. They want jobs but none seem to exist and if they DO, they go to everyone BUT those seeking them, They have either a past – or a present – problem with drugs, alcohol, etc. They may not have worked for years. They’re trying to climb a hill and a mudslide of political and peer pressure, discrimination and generalized animosity is coming right at them and they’re expected to climb and not drown; to withstand the  pressure put on them, raise a family, etc., with pretty much NO support from those who are called to do so.

I was just sitting here, listening to Ray Boltz singing “What if I Gave All” and as always, this songs brings tears to my eyes and a sob to my heart.

Please take a couple minutes and really listen to this song…It’s been the cry of my heart, as moderator of this page to be able to help those who are in need. It’s so discomforting for me to realize how big and pure my heart is, in spite of my humanity and fight against sin, and just as great a need as the kids portrayed on this video. And the killing part? I’m not trying to reach Africa– I’d settle for my backyard- Colorado Springs, Colorado – and the  people who come here to OIM to be blessed with food and clothes and whatever else we can give them.

imagejpeg_8 (2) needs to look like this: DSCN1796

imagejpeg_3 (3) needs to look like this: DSCN1787

The truth is that I’m tired. I’m tired of watching my pastor  hold her head up and practice her faith and know that she must, when no one is looking, cry out to God and ask him why people will spend hundreds of dollars for Denver Bronco‘s tickets but when it comes to money in the offering plate, there’s not enough to pay a tiny staff to work. I’m one of those prospective employees and I can’t even cover my rent since the government cracked down on TANF and food stamps so I do my best to hold my head up and do the best I can and wonder if I won’t be forced to take my family back to the shelter where we will once more be separated. My boss keeps telling me to trust God and believe and I know in my heart and spirit she’s right but if people don’t step forward to help, we’re screwed- and it’s not right. It’s not right that some people have more than they’ll ever need and others don’t have anything. Psalms 73 speaks of this so clearly but still I am human and love my family above all and lived through the damage it did to my son being separated from his father for 6 months. He’s only 4 years old and we desperately need help; both me and my family and this organization I’ve served faithfully the past 6 months.

I’m discouraged and tired of running my mouth about this. I’m tired of using increasingly obvious guilt tactics but what else can I do? I can’t force people who claim to be Christians to come forward. I can’t force people to read or buy my book.VFWTS I live in a constant state of fear, whether I like it or not. broken heart

See, this isn’t a popularity contest. If it were, I’d lose by default, primarily because so few know I’m even alive, despite  my many social outlets. It’s not a lack of trying: it’s a lack of RESULTS

Lord, please open the door.  Let me know that there are still a FEW who don’t “bow the knee to Ba’al“. The lines of demarcation are no longer clear as they used to be…I pray that we find a way to find each other and join forces to make a difference.  You are my neighbor and I am yours. ❤

Daddy and Ish  Mommy and Ish  Raphael and Heidi

About Overcomers International Ministry

We are a non-profit organization dedicated to the spiritual and physical healing of a hurting world. We are located in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Overcomers International Ministry (OIM) is comprised of a church, office and food pantry.

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Fundraisers, Societal Problems, Thank You Bracelets, The Healing Gallery, Volunteers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Disciples Perspective

Join the Conversation. Prepare for the Confrontation.

Focused And Free

FOCUSED on the TRUTH that sets us FREE!

Writings of a Mrs

Follow my journey to writing, Blogging and publishing my musings..

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

Outlook in Life

... and it is ever changing

Mama Bear Musings

Thoughts and Writings that have been Hibernating in my Mind

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

unconditional love

concerning this house

Faithrises

"Discussions on faith and perseverance"

How Leaders Manage

Shape your Character change your life.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

TVLine

TV News, Previews, Spoilers, Casting Scoop, Interviews

who is bert

a dialogue on mind, consciousness and existence

1stFreelancing

Web design and Development Guide

Three Wise Guys

Best not to think about it

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

eatbreatherun

Eating, Running & Fighting Against Lung Cancer

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Paper Engines

Cultural Critique, Art and The Musings of a Moral Mad Scientist

Eddie Knight

Thoughts from the Justice Generation

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

One Body, A Million Stories

Powered by the people of Cypress UMC

altruistico

People Healing People

Writers for a Cause

Spreading goodwill through good reads.

drboosters

Divine Redeemer Athletics & Boosters

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

Simple Tom

Some say I was born high. Others say i'm just simple :)

candycoatedreality™

A dose of positivity, inspiration & motivation!

SOulBLINDministry.com

Revealing the hidden truths in scriptures - MARK 4:11

bhardwazbhardwaz

Knowledge and Happiness(K&H) multiples by dividing it. More you share, higher and bigger they grow.

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

joannahilton

Lover of literature

seyisandradavid

A Writer With A Difference

Darrell Creswell - A Study of Christian Grace

Just a servant with a laptop sharing stories of Grace, Love, Hope and Comfort

The Neighborhood

society online creative conscious

